The Civil Rights Movement: Legislation & Court Cases

The U.S. Government Publishing Office page for the Civil Rights Act of 1957 provides the full text of this early civil rights legislation, which focused on addressing racial discrimination in voting and established the Civil Rights Commission. This act marked a significant step in the federal government's efforts to protect voting rights and investigate civil rights violations.

The page on Congress.gov for House Bill 7152 from the 88th Congress details the proposed legislation that eventually became the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964. The bill aimed to address civil rights issues by expanding federal protections and enforcement mechanisms related to voting rights and racial discrimination.

The National Archives page for the Voting Rights Act of 1965 provides the full text of this landmark legislation, which was pivotal in eliminating racial discrimination in voting. The act enforced voting rights and sought to overcome barriers that had historically disenfranchised African American voters and other minority groups.

The page on Congress.gov for House Bill 2516 from the 90th Congress details the proposed legislation that became the Civil Rights Act of 1968. This landmark bill included the Fair Housing Act, which aimed to combat discrimination in housing and ensure equal access to housing opportunities regardless of race, color, religion, or national origin. The bill addressed the need for fair housing practices in the wake of growing civil rights activism.

The National Archives page on Brown v. Board of Education provides the text and context of the landmark 1954 Supreme Court decision that declared racial segregation in public schools unconstitutional. It highlights the case's pivotal role in advancing civil rights and ending institutionalized segregation in American education.

The Oyez page for Heart of Atlanta Motel, Inc. v. United States (1964) provides an overview of the Supreme Court case that upheld the constitutionality of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. It also includes audio recordings of the oral arguments, offering an in-depth view of the legal discussions that shaped this landmark decision.

The linked document from the Library of Congress is the full text of the Supreme Court decision in Loving v. Virginia (1967), which invalidated state laws banning interracial marriage. This landmark ruling was a major step forward in the fight for racial equality, affirming the constitutional right to marry regardless of race.

The linked document from the Library of Congress is the full text of the Supreme Court decision in Davis v. Mississippi (1969), which addressed the issue of whether the detention of individuals without probable cause violated their constitutional rights. The ruling highlighted the need for procedural safeguards to protect individuals from unlawful detention.

The Digital Sanborn Maps database provides detailed historical maps that illustrate city layouts and land use from the late 19th and early 20th centuries. These maps are particularly valuable for studying redlining practices, as they often highlight discriminatory zoning and housing policies in cities like Atlanta. By examining these maps, researchers can trace how redlining affected urban development and housing segregation over time.

This entry from Encyclopædia Britannica provides a concise yet comprehensive overview of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), covering its founding in 1909, key civil rights achievements, and ongoing advocacy for racial equality and social justice in the United States. It is a reliable starting point for understanding the organization's historical impact and continued relevance.